Skip to content

Sandpiles

February 21, 2014

When life was simple,

Sandraandhergrandpa We used to play.

Ornery was she all the long summer days.

I’d do anything just to see her dimples

and she would just laugh and run off to fish…

she grew up too thin and way too fast

Oh how I wish those days had not come to pass

Oh how much and desperately I wish…

That sandy-haired Angel would have lived in bliss…

Sandpiles! I used to taunt her… calling her in fun.

Seeing all those curly lock’s bouncing in the sun.

Oh what I would do for just one more kiss.

or an “I love you” ringing in my ear…

Yet she must know in her heart I am always near.

It is the things like holding her that I miss…

though it may seem like thousands of miles….

I hope that she can hear on the wind when I call out… Sandpiles!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2014 12:21 am

    Very sweet and heartfelt, Stuart!
    These comical sentiments she might just feel ~

    Good tickle job! Peace and luvz, Keith

    • February 23, 2014 11:57 pm

      Thank you Keith! when she told me the story I wanted to leave her with a great Memorial. She grew up within a mile of me as a kid and within 5 miles as a teen. We knew a lot of the same people yet never met till recently. Though we both have our own lives our coarse is a parallel one and I wanted to give her something beautiful for her loss because it was a terrible one for her. Thank you and take care Brother!

  2. February 22, 2014 1:04 pm

    Some hold such a big place in out hearts and minds, Stuart, what a wonderful and emotive poem. Sandpiles, you made my eyes water in response to the wish, and I do too, wish that she heard the call. xPenx

    • February 23, 2014 11:50 pm

      Hi Lady P! sorry I have been extremely busy and could not respond until now with my sister in town and not being able to get to my laptop. I thought that Sandras relationship with her grandpa was a beautiful one. She is a dear friend that misses him so I thought it would be a way to make it a great memorial for her. Thank you so much for the wonderful comment… it made my day to read!

  3. March 6, 2014 9:00 am

    Wow, Stuart, this is so beautiful… way beyond beautiful… I am glad you are writing still. I find it helps heal my soul. Thank you for sharing this.

    • March 10, 2014 12:26 am

      Thank you so much Denise! I thought that Sandra’s relationship with her Grandpa was a beautiful and inspiring story. She is a dear friend that shared since his passing…so I thought I would immortalize it! So glad it helps your soul, it is a wonderful thing!

Leave a Reply

