Skip to content

…One Crazy Ride

November 9, 2010
1987-1991 Ford F-150 photographed in Fairfax, ...

Image via Wikipedia

The roads around Tulsa, Oklahoma are usually an easy ride as long as one knows where they are going. The only times that it can be treacherous is when a person gets too comfortable driving on them. I know these road like the back of my hand. I have driven on them every day for years. I even know which lane the off ramp is in and the number on the exit sign why wouldn’t I be comfortable? This is the kind of thinking that almost got me killed.

On a hot summer day,I was driving on a six lane highway with a grassy median dividing it. Oklahoma is known for changing its weather rapidly and sometimes violently but I have always seen this behavior and it comes as no surprise to me. On this drive the weather turned from partly cloudy to rain that had almost zero visibility but I could see the roads painted lines and I knew that I had plenty of room so I continues on my drive doing about 55 mile per hour in my old ford pick-up truck. The only problem was that the rain had not wash the oily film off the road yet.

Suddenly I saw tail lights come on and it was close enough that I was about to hit them! I locked up my brakesย  and it sent me into a tale spin. I must have spun close to 10 times and each time I spun around I tried to counter steer in such a way as to send me to the grassy middle or at least stop the spin. It worked to some degree, I started spinning toward the middle. A guard rail began at the point my truck started to leave the road and it forced my truck to do a cart-wheel end over end over the middle into the on-coming lane. I landed on 2 tires and rested on all 4 only blowing out one tire in the process.

When I landed the action was not over, I had cars coming at me head on! I had 2 choices either drive the truck into the guard rail to try to escape or hit them head on. So I steered into the guard rail and stepped on the gas. I crashed into it, missing the on coming cars narrowly.

I sat there in shock for a few seconds, looked around, and realized I wasn’t wearing a seat belt! Oh…crap I said to my self. Thankfully I wasn’t hurt at all. I got out to assess the damage, my tools were all over the place and my spare was lodged in some low laying trees but I got that stuff back and change that flat as quick as I possibly could because I didn’t want a ticket on top of this.Ihe truck looked drivable so I pried it off the guard rail and took off. I ended up driving that old Ford f-150 for about 8 more months after that happened to my amazement.ย  I have to say though that was one crazy ride.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 6:45 am

    Very Lucky and witty too.
    All God’s grace.
    Happy that you were unhurt.
    I don’t think it deserves the title of crazy ride.
    I think it was because of your best presence of mind, that you are writing this blog.
    Everybody is not that lucky.

  2. November 9, 2010 7:56 am

    thank god you were unhurt. it must have been a nightmare. a perfect nightmare.

  3. November 9, 2010 8:00 am

    there is some bug with your blog. a few days back i tried for four or five times to post a comment, it doesnot shows any thing “waiting for moderation” or any other thing. the comment just vanishes after i press “submit” ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • November 9, 2010 1:21 pm

      I think that I may have taken care of the problem but I wont know without feed back. Thank you for telling me Trisha!

      • November 10, 2010 7:23 am

        its still being naughty. it happened today too. ๐Ÿ™‚
        it swallows the comments without any type of acknowledgement.

  4. November 9, 2010 8:07 am

    this must have been nightmarish! what a scary incident. thank god that you were not hurt.

  5. November 9, 2010 9:15 am

    Wow, these are the moments that cause us to wonder why we escaped… I have had a couple of those, myself. NB: If you can, turn into the skid, not away from it. Very well written, 2zpoint, I could feel myself in that pickup!

  6. November 9, 2010 12:11 pm

    You have been lucky, Stuart.

    • November 9, 2010 12:49 pm

      One of many time my friend but I learn a little from each. It’s just a good thing I’m not a cat would have used all nine of my lives years ago.

  7. November 9, 2010 7:10 pm

    And did your wife say, “yeah right, which pub did you just come from?” Only joking, what a shocking close shave. bb

    • November 9, 2010 9:04 pm

      LOL! nah…At the time…I was single but friends of mine thought I was full of it till we were riding by the tread marks and dented guard rail.

  8. November 9, 2010 8:48 pm

    Wow, that was one crazy, miraculous ride. It truly was a miracle that you or someone else wasn’t badly injured. And that was good thinking to put yourself into the guard rail when the traffic was coming at you.

    So glad you’re here to tell the tale. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. November 10, 2010 1:51 am

    The main thing was that you were not hurt and evasive quick thinking made others not get hurt as well..and it is lucky you had a guard rail and not a cliff…glad to still see you here writing this blog..God Bless You Soul Bro Stuart(+)
    Dom* ๐Ÿ™‚

    • November 10, 2010 3:35 am

      Yeah…as I have said . These kinds of things have happened to me many times. I been in wrecks, fell through floors, been hit 3 times by vehicles, Hit by boomers, a cheater bar, cue stick, so many fight that I can’t remember(as a bouncer in strip bar), Fallen off a hay truck at around 40mph, Fell from about 10′ 2 times. Had a stack of Pepsi crates fall from about 6’above my head on to my head. Been bucked off horses, ran over by horses 4 times, had my hand stuck in a machine at 2 years old.Played American Football for 12 years.
      These are the things that I can remember off the top of my head. That’s why I say I’m thankful to be here but the amazing thing of all these is I was never hurt worse than stitches or muscle tears. I went to the chiropractor over the last incident but he has me much better now( 1st time I ever tried one). I was having back spasms. Fixed it with new (to me) stretches.
      I don’t know if its quick thinking but I do believe there is some reason God wants me here intact…It’ll show some day I’m sure.

  10. November 11, 2010 4:25 pm

    We want you here also….enjoy Soul Bro Stuart(+) ๐Ÿ™‚
    Dom* ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. November 13, 2010 12:17 am

    It was one crazy ride indeed, fortunately you lived to tell the story

Leave a comment